Discover the system of government in South Korea

The South Korean government’s structure is determined by the Constitution of the Republic of Korea. Like many democratic states, South Korea has a government divided into three branches: executive, judicial, and legislative. The executive and legislative branches operate primarily at the national level, although various ministries in the executive branch also carry out local functions. Local governments are semi-autonomous, and contain executive and legislative bodies of their own. The judicial branch operates at both the national and local levels. South Korea is a constitutional democracy.The National Assembly of South Korea

Although South Korea experienced a series of military dictatorships from the 1960s until the 1980s, it has since developed into a successful liberal democracy. Today, the CIA World Factbook describes South Korea’s democracy as a “fully functioning modern democracy”. South Korea is ranked 45th on the Corruption Perceptions Index (9th in the Asia-Pacific region), with a score of 57 out of 100.


  • The system of government in South Korea
  • Text of the Korean Constitution
  • facts about the Republic of South Korea

The system of government in South Korea

We list below the most important information related to the system of government in South Korea:

Korea borders a country with a pluralistic democratic presidential system, where the people elect their president every five years, who stays for one presidential term.

The government is divided among the three powers; The executive branch is headed by the President of the Republic, followed by the Prime Minister, the Council of Ministers, and the Legislature; Consisting of one chamber, the National Assembly, whose members are elected for a term of four years, and the judiciary consisting of the Supreme Court which is the highest court of the judicial system, the Court of Appeal, and the Constitutional Court.

See also  Mallorca: 5 good reasons to go on holiday to this idyllic island

The system of government in Korea has the National Parliament, which includes 299 members, 80% of its members are elected directly, and 20% by the proportional representation system.

There are many political parties, for example: the Sanuri Party, which has 172 seats in Parliament, is the ruling party, and has been ruling Korea for the last seven years, the Democratic Party, which has 82 seats in Parliament, and the Democratic Action Party, which has 5 seats, in addition to the Korea Renewal Party, which has It only has 3 seats.

Korean Constitution

Text The Constitution of the Republic of Korea was promulgated on July 17, 1948, which was implemented in July 1952, and the current constitution is the Ninth Amendment, which stipulates several things, the most important of which are:

  • It adopts liberal democracy, as a basic principle of governance.
  • It guarantees the people’s freedom and rights under the law. All citizens are obligated to pay taxes, defend the country, work, and educate.
  • Recognizes the necessity of creating a prosperous state.
  • Equal opportunities for citizens in all fields, such as politics, economy, and culture.
  • The state must strive to maintain international peace.

Facts about the Republic of South Korea

It includes the following:

  • Forests constitute the largest proportion of the country, amounting to approximately 65% ​​of its land.
  • South Korea includes 68 cities and 103 provinces in the nine Korean provinces.
  • Throughout the year, Koreans celebrate several holidays, most of which depend on the lunar year, such as Lunar New Year, New Year’s Day, Independence Day on March 1, Buddha’s Birthday, Constitution Day on July 17, in addition to Christmas, and many other occasions.
  • Since the Koreans settled on the Korean Peninsula, which is characterized by four distinct and beautiful seasons, and where mountainous areas dominate over flat areas, the Koreans have developed their own culture, regarding the way they eat, dress, and build their homes.
  • Koreans practice different faiths and beliefs, such as Buddhism, Confucianism, Christianity, and Islam.
  • The people speak the Korean language (Han Guk O), which is a mixture of the Korean language and the Chinese language, and the common people use some Japanese and English vocabulary in their language, and the official currency used is the won (W).
  • The city of Seoul is the capital of South Korea, which is the largest populated Korean city.
See also  Discover the most beautiful cities in the world for tourism 2022

Did you like this article? Do not hesitate to share it on social networks and subscribe to Discover the World on Google News to not miss any articles!
5/5 - (2 votes)
Mohamed SAKHRI
Mohamed SAKHRI

I am Mohamed SAKHRI, the creator and editor-in-chief of this blog, 'Discover the World – The Blog for Curious Travelers.' Join me as we embark on a journey around the world, uncovering beautiful places, diverse cultures, and captivating stories. Additionally, we will delve into mysterious and, at times, even bizarre destinations.

Articles: 772

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *